Update: 2022 Election of the IRC Chairperson and CEO

January 20, 2022

Duane Smith has been acclaimed as the Chairperson of the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation for a four-year term, after candidate Patrick Gruben officially withdrew from the 2022 Election.

Mr. Smith and Mr. Gruben were the two candidates to submit nominations for the position during the two-week eligibility period that closed on January 14, 2022.

As a result of Mr. Gruben’s withdrawal, submitted in writing to Chief Returning Officer Todd Orvitz on January 19, Mr. Smith is the sole candidate for the position of Chairperson and CEO. 

As such, Duane Smith is acclaimed as Chairperson and Chief Executive Officer of the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation, with his term commencing on January 26, 2022.

The election was scheduled to be held on January 26 at the Mackenzie Hotel, with votes cast by the 42 Directors representing Aklavik, Paulatuk, Sachs Harbour, Inuvik, Ulukhaktok and Tuktoyaktuk.

Duane Smith was first elected Chairperson in 2016.


For more information please contact: 

 Jay Matheson
Deputy Returning Officer
Tel: 867.777.7076
Email: jmatheson@inuvialuit.com 
Bessie Rogers
Deputy Returning Officer
Tel: 867.777.7068
Email: brogers@inuvialuit.com 

Press Release. Update: 2022 Election of the IRC Chairperson and CEO